Raise Awareness, Educate, Develop Knowledge

The educational and cultural mission of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal is designed to be fully integrated with the museum’s artistic vision; in other words, reach, educate and raise awareness of contemporary art among as many people as possible. Our educational activities, which are planned to tie in closely with temporary exhibitions and presentations from the permanent collection, are intended for audiences of all ages and from all communities, in keeping with the ethnocultural and linguistic diversity that characterizes Greater Montréal.

Find out more

Offers for schools and groups

Preschool, Elementary and Secondary School Groups

Our Education team offers art workshops and interactive tours intended for preschool, elementary and secondary school students.

College, University and Other Groups

Whatever your type of group—college, university, community, professional, tourist or other—our Education team offers art workshops and interactive tours suited to all needs and all levels.

Program for solo visitors

Art Workshops

For solo visitors

The Musée’s art workshops offer visitors of all ages an opportunity to enhance their aesthetic experience by trying out various techniques, media and materials related to  a concept or theme found in a work or exhibition.

Interactive Tours

For solo visitors

Through personal observation of works, the tours help visitors develop their eye for the art object. In an atmosphere conducive to discussion and questioning, the tours offer a moment of discovery, learning and awareness of contemporary art.

SéminArts

For solo visitors

SéminArts is a program providing an introduction to the art of collecting contemporary art. Conducted in an atmosphere conducive to discussion and exchanges of ideas, this educational program gives participants a chance to discover the art world and how it operates, as well as the art market, through five sessions with various players in the art world: artist, gallerist, private collector, corporate collector and exhibition or museum curator.

Day Camps

Inspired by a theme connected with the works on display, the Musée Day Camp makes the most of participants’ energy and creativity by offering them a wide range of activities, both artistic (drawing, painting, sculpture, silkscreen on T-shirts, digital arts) and recreational.

Cultural Activities Programs

Gallery Talks

The aim of gallery talks is to offer visitors an opportunity to hear the viewpoints of the principal players involved in the current exhibitions and to create spaces for contact and exchanges of ideas.

Max and Iris Stern International Symposiums

The goal of this annual event is to make the latest research of today’s leading thinkers accessible to the public. These scholars work in a variety of fields, such as art history, aesthetics, sociology and literature. 

Don't miss

Sensibiliser, éduquer et développer le savoir

La mission éducative et culturelle du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal se veut parfaitement intégrée à la vision artistique de l’institution; à savoir rejoindre, sensibiliser et éduquer le plus grand nombre à l’art contemporain. Développées en lien étroit avec les expositions temporaires et celles de la collection permanente, les activités éducatives sont conçues pour des publics de tous âges et issus de toutes les communautés, représentant la diversité ethnoculturelle et linguistique qui caractérise le Grand Montréal.

Lire

Offre pour les écoles et les groupes

Groupes préscolaires, primaires et secondaires

Le service de l’Éducation propose des Ateliers de création et des Visites interactives adaptés aux jeunes des niveaux préscolaire, primaire et secondaire.

Groupes collégiaux, universitaires et autres

Quel que soit le statut de votre groupe : collégial, universitaire, communautaire, professionnels, touristique ou autre, le service de l’Éducation propose des Ateliers de création et des Visites interactives adaptées à tous les besoins et pour tous les niveaux.

Programmes pour visiteurs individuels

Ateliers de Création

Pour visiteurs individuels

Les Ateliers de création du Musée ont pour objectif d’offrir aux visiteurs de tout âge l’occasion de prolonger leur expérience esthétique par l’expérimentation de divers médiums, techniques et matériaux reliés à une thématique ou à un concept présent dans une œuvre ou dans une exposition.

Visites interactives

Pour visiteurs individuels

Par l’observation directe des œuvres d’art, les visites permettent d’approfondir le regard porté sur l’objet. Dans un climat favorisant la discussion et le questionnement, la visite se veut un moment de découverte, d’apprentissage et de sensibilisation à l’art contemporain.

Séminarts

Pour visiteurs individuels

SéminArts est un programme éducatif permettant aux participants de découvrir le monde de l’art, son fonctionnement et son marché, par le biais de cinq rencontres avec différents acteurs du milieu : l’artiste, le galeriste, le collectionneur privé et le collectionneur.

Camps de Jour

Inspiré d’un thème relatif aux œuvres exposées, le Camp de jour du Musée met à profit le dynamisme et la créativité de l’ensemble des participants en leur offrant une grande variété d’activités artistiques, muséologiques et récréatives.

Programmes de l’action culturelle

Conférences et rencontres

Les rencontres et conférences ont pour but d’offrir aux visiteurs l’occasion d’entendre le point de vue des principaux acteurs des expositions en cours et de créer des espaces de contacts et d’échanges.

Colloques internationaux Max et Iris Stern

L’événement, qui se tient chaque année, a pour but de rendre accessibles au public les travaux de recherche récents des penseurs actuels, issus de domaines différents, tels que l’histoire de l’art, l’esthétique, la sociologie ou la littérature. 

À ne pas manquer