Mission

Promote Awareness, Knowledge and Education

Over the years, the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal has developed an expertise aimed at meeting the museum education needs of its different audiences. Visitors can access this expertise through three main programs offered by the MAC: Art Workshops, Interactive Tours and Cultural Activities. Depending on visitors’ particular interests, they may choose any one of these activities or combine them to make the most of their visit to the MAC.


Educational Activities

Interactive Tours

Tours focused on dialogue and discussion, for all visitor categories.

The overall objective of the Interactive Tours is to enable visitors to discover the MAC’s collection and temporary exhibitions. The tours are designed not only to provide information on the works on display, of course, but also to offer a space where the public and the educator can meet and exchange ideas. They are intended for all visitor categories: preschool and school groups (elementary, secondary, college, university), community, professional and tourist groups, as well as solo visitors. Various educational programs that include tours are also planned in conjunction with the MAC’s Art Workshops in order to present an art experience combining observation of works with hands-on experience using different techniques and materials.

Specific objectives

  • Help visitors develop the skills needed to appreciate works of art: observe, identify, describe, compare and analyze;
  • Help visitors formulate critical judgments about the works and discuss them with the other participants;
  • Encourage visitors to use the works’ evocative potential to stimulate their own imagination;
  • Devolop visitors’ knowledge and understanding of the main issues related to contemporary art in Québec, Canada and abroad;
  • Encourage visitors to draw connections between contemporary art and society, and between contemporary art and their daily lives.

Approach

Our Interactive Tours are designed to develop visitors’ ability to appreciate works of art, rather than imposing a single interpretation. The educator encourages discussion and questions, guides participants in their observations and facilitates the sharing of ideas. With preschool and elementary school groups, a playful, imagination-centred approach is adopted.

SéminArts

Program offering an introduction to contemporary art collecting

Offered by the MAC in collaboration with the Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Family Foundation since fall 2010, SéminArts is an educational program providing an introduction to the art of collecting contemporary art. In an atmosphere that encourages discussion and the sharing of ideas, participants discover the art world and the workings of the art market through five sessions with various players in the arts community, includings artists, gallerists, private collectors, corporate collectors and exhibition and museum curators. In addition to its scheduled series, SéminArts regularly offers à la carte activities (tour of Art Toronto, visits to other types of art venues, meetings with diverse stakeholders).

Art Workshops

Focused on artistic expression for all visitor categories

The MAC’s Art Workshops offer visitors of all ages an opportunity to enhance their aesthetic experience by trying out various techniques, media and materials related to a concept or theme found in a work or exhibition. By encouraging artistic expression, they help develop visitors’ desire and ability to create.

Specific objectives

  • Use a variety of approaches to offer different audiences another way to connect with contemporary art;
  • Enhance visitors’ aesthetic experience;
  • Demystify the creative process with a hands-on approach;
  • Give visitors a sense of accomplishment by engaging in a rewarding activity;
  • Act as a source of inspiration prior to the tour;
  • Continue the thought process begun during the tour;
  • Increase visitors’ awareness of museum practices and familiarize them with various aspects of contemporary Québec, Canadian and international art;
  • Recognize and respect participants’ individual characteristics and expand their repertoire of personal experiences;
  • Develop visitors’ creative abilities through personal artistic expression and give them hands-on experience with various gestures, techniques, processes, materials and tools as means of two-dimensional and three-dimensional representation.

An approach focused on creativity

The museum setting in which these workshops take place offers much more than a chance to simply encounter and personally observe works of art. The ready access they provide to the art objects and the way these works are presented allow us to develop a special pedagogical approach that fosters a productive relationship between seeing and doing. Contemporary art favours artistic choices that venture far from conventional means of representation. It reflects both a certain artistic legacy inherited from the past and the concerns of the present. One of its main features is its eclecticism. The diversity of works, subjects, styles, techniques and materials stimulates and fuels the imaginations of receptive visitors.

After personally observing original works, an exercise that helps sharpen the gaze, workshop participants experiment, discover, reinvent and create. The resulting works may be modest, but they are truly personal and tangible. Creating images means producing them, putting them into concrete form. The hand works with the eye, enabled by discipline-specific means including gestures, techniques, processes, materials and tools.

The benefits of creativity

It’s well known that a hefty dose of creativity clears the mind and refreshes our ideas, stimulates our imagination, develops personal expression, sparks many different emotions, promotes self-esteem, enables us to externalize our sensibility, prompts a desire to communicate and alters our perception of the world. Participating in the MAC’s workshops means enjoying a special opportunity to reinvent yourself!

Workshop/Tour Combo

A program combining the pleasure of observing with that of creating

The Workshop/Tour Combo is the ideal way to make the most of a visit to the MAC. This two-hour educational activity combines an Interactive Tour of the current exhibition with an Art Workshop that ties in with one of the works on display. It is intended for all types of groups: preschool, school, community, tourist and professional groups, as well as for solo visitors as part of our Family Sundays and Creative Moments programs.

Family Sundays

Open to all, in the company of family or friends, every Sunday afternoon

Designed for both young and old, for both contemporary art lovers and neophytes alike, our Family Sundays offer children ages four and up, teenagers and adults a relaxed atmosphere in which to explore original works of art and discover new ways of creating through a hands-on approach and under the guidance of a welcoming, energetic staff.

Creative Moments

Workshops for adults

This program of activities revolving around artistic expression offers adults an opportunity to become acquainted with original artistic practices and experiment with various aspects of the creative process. Each session presents a new visual or media arts activity, with a different subject, theme, technique and medium, offering participants a multitude of perspectives on the many different creative possibilities offered by the works on view at the MAC. By way of introduction, each series of activities starts off with an Interactive Tour.

LabO TechnO

This program invites participants to explore and experiment with new technologies for producing computer-generated images while mastering an innovative approach to the creative process.

Digital images and their multiple variations are revolutionizing the forms of expression used in visual culture and rapidly transforming the way we represent things. The growth of new media has led us to inaugurate a brand new digital arts lab in keeping with today’s techno world.

Specific objectives

  • Produce a variety of artistic creations making use of new technological possibilities, new programs and new tools;
  • Create digital artworks in 2D and 3D;
  • Display images produced in the workshops in a virtual gallery (website).

Day Camp

For children age 6 to 15

Inspired by a theme connected with the works on display, the MAC’s Day Camp taps into participants’ energy and creativity by offering them a wide range of activities, both artistic (drawing, painting, sculpture, silkscreen on T-shirts, digital arts) and recreational. The program aims to develop youngsters’ creative capabilities as they learn about contemporary art in a fun, original way.

Recognized for its high standards of quality and its continually updated program, the MAC’s Day Camp has won four awards of excellence from the Association des camps certifiés du Québec: for Innovation in 1997, and for Best Program in 1998, 2006 and 2010.


Cultural Activities

Every year, the MAC plans and organizes the Max and Iris Stern International Symposium in addition to co-organizing symposiums with researchers associated with Québec universities. The goal of this program is to make the research of today’s leading thinkers accessible to the public. These scholars work in a variety of fields, such as art history, philosophy, literature, communication theory and other fields that shed new light on contemporary art. Through its cultural activities, the MAC contributes to the advancement of knowledge on recent developments in the art world and draws attention to the relationship between art and various social and aesthetic issues, thereby highlighting the central role of the visual arts in our society and the unique perspective they offer.

Gallery Talks

The MAC offers several ways to connect with its exhibitions, including gallery talks by curators and artists, conversations between exhibition curators and artists, and lectures by artists on their artistic practices. The aim of these talks is to offer visitors an opportunity to hear the perspective of the main actors involved in current exhibitions, while opening up a space for contact and dialogue.

Max and Iris Stern International Symposium

Since 2006, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal has held an international symposium known as the Max and Iris Stern International Symposium. From the time of the MAC’s founding in 1964, Max and Iris Stern contributed significantly to its growth by enriching its collection with many gifts, including works by Hans Arp, Paul-Émile Borduas, Emily Carr, John Lyman and Jean Paul Riopelle.

The goal of this annual event is to make the latest research of today’s leading thinkers accessible to the public. These scholars work in a variety of fields, such as art history, aesthetics, sociology and literature. Through this commitment, the MAC’s aim is to foster a greater understanding of contemporary art and pay tribute to Max and Iris Stern by promoting their vision on the international scene.

Mission

Sensibiliser, éduquer et développer le savoir

Afin de répondre aux exigences de ses divers publics en matière d’éducation muséale, le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal a développé au fil des ans une expertise qui se déploie principalement à l’intérieur de trois volets, soit les Ateliers de création, les Visites interactives et l’Action culturelle. Selon leurs besoins particuliers, les visiteurs peuvent choisir l’une ou l’autre de ces activités ou encore les combiner afin de profiter au maximum de leur visite au Musée.


Action éducative

Les Visites interactives

Des visites axées sur l’échange pour toutes les clientèles. 

Les Visites interactives ont pour objectif général de faire découvrir la Collection du Musée ainsi que les expositions temporaires. Les visites visent bien sûr à donner de l’information sur les œuvres exposées, mais elles se veulent également un lieu de rencontre et d’échanges entre le public et le médiateur. Les visites s’adressent à toutes les clientèles, soit les groupes préscolaires, scolaires (niveau primaire, secondaire, collégial, universitaire), communautaires, professionnels, touristiques ainsi qu’au visiteur individuel. Plusieurs programmes éducatifs incluant des visites sont également élaborés en collaboration avec les Ateliers de création du Musée pour proposer une expérience de l’art où l’observation des œuvres se conjugue à l’expérimentation de techniques et de matériaux divers.

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Amener le visiteur à développer les habiletés nécessaires à l’appréciation des œuvres d’art, soit à observer, à identifier, à décrire, à comparer et à analyser ;
  • Amener le visiteur à articuler un jugement critique par rapport aux œuvres et à en discuter avec les autres participants ;
  • Amener le visiteur à utiliser le potentiel d’évocation des œuvres afin de stimuler son imaginaire ;
  • Amener le visiteur à mieux connaître et comprendre les principaux enjeux de l’art contemporain québécois, canadien et international ;
  • Amener le visiteur à faire des liens entre l’art contemporain et la société ainsi qu’entre l’art contemporain et sa vie quotidienne.

Approche

Les Visites interactives sont conçues pour développer les compétences du visiteur à apprécier les œuvres plutôt que d’imposer un savoir sur celles-ci. Favorisant la discussion et le questionnement, le médiateur ou la médiatrice guide les participants dans leurs observations et intervient de façon à susciter des échanges. Avec les groupes de niveau préscolaire et primaire, une approche ludique axée sur l’imaginaire est privilégiée.

SéminArts

Programme d’initiation au collectionnement de l’art contemporain

SéminArts est un programme d’initiation au collectionnement de l’art contemporain offert par le Musée depuis l’automne 2010, grâce à la collaboration de la Fondation de la famille Claudine et Stephen Bronfman. Dans un climat propice à la discussion et aux échanges d’idées, ce programme éducatif permet aux participants de découvrir le monde de l’art, son fonctionnement et son marché, par le biais de cinq rencontres avec différents acteurs du milieu : l’artiste, le galeriste, le collectionneur privé, le collectionneur d’entreprise, le commissaire d’exposition ou le conservateur de musée. En plus des séries régulières, SéminArts offre régulièrement des activités à la carte (visite à Art Toronto, découvertes de lieux de diffusion et rencontres avec divers intervenants).

Les Ateliers de création

Axés sur l’expression plastique pour toutes les clientèles, les Ateliers de création du Musée offrent au visiteur de tout âge l’occasion de prolonger l’expérience esthétique par l’expérimentation de diverses techniques, médiums et matériaux reliés à un concept ou à une thématique présents dans une œuvre ou une exposition. Par l’expression plastique, on développe chez le visiteur le désir et la capacité de créer.

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Diversifier les types d’approches afin de fournir aux différents publics un autre moyen d’entrer en contact avec l’art contemporain ;
  • Prolonger l’expérience esthétique du visiteur ;
  • Expérimenter et démystifier le processus de création ;
  • Valoriser le visiteur en lui faisant vivre une activité enrichissante ;
  • Servir d’élément déclencheur avant la visite ;
  • Poursuivre la réflexion amorcée pendant la visite ;
  • Sensibiliser les visiteurs à la muséologie, les familiariser avec certains aspects de l’art contemporain québécois, canadien et international ;
  • Reconnaître et respecter les particularités de chacun des participants et enrichir leur répertoire d’expériences personnelles ;
  • Développer chez les visiteurs, par l’expression plastique, leurs capacités créatrices et leur faire connaître et expérimenter des gestes, des techniques, des procédés, des matériaux et des outils, comme moyens de représentation bidimensionnelle et tridimensionnelle.

Une approche axée sur la créativité

Le cadre muséologique dans lequel sont offerts ces Ateliers favorise bien plus que la rencontre et l’observation directe des œuvres d’art. L’accès facile aux objets et le dispositif de présentation permettent de développer une démarche pédagogique particulière rendant fertile la relation entre le voir et le faire. L’art contemporain valorise des choix plastiques s’éloignant des modes de représentation classique. Il véhicule à la fois un certain héritage artistique du passé et des préoccupations du présent. Son éclectisme est l’une de ses principales caractéristiques. La diversité des œuvres, des thèmes, des styles, des techniques, des matériaux approvisionnent, provoquent et stimulent l’exercice de l’imagination chez le visiteur réceptif.

Une fois le regard aiguisé par l’observation directe d’œuvres originales, les participants à l’Atelier expérimentent, découvrent, réinventent et créent. Les réalisations sont parfois modestes, mais elles ont le mérite d’être personnelles et concrètes. La création d’images réclame leur matérialisation, leur réalisation. Complice du regard, l’expression plastique nécessite des moyens spécifiques à la discipline qui impliquent des gestes, des techniques, des procédés, des matériaux et des outils.

Les retombées de la créativité

C’est prouvé ! Une bonne dose de créativité aère l’esprit et renouvelle les idées, stimule l’imagination, développe l’expression personnelle, provoque des émotions multiples, favorise l’estime de soi, permet d’extérioriser sa sensibilité, suscite le désir de communiquer et change la perception du monde. Participer aux Ateliers du Musée, c’est s’offrir une occasion privilégiée de se réinventer ! 

Le Tandem atelier/visite

Un programme pour combiner le plaisir d’observer et celui de créer

Afin d’optimiser la visite au Musée, le tandem atelier-visite est à privilégier. D’une durée de deux heures, ce programme éducatif comprend la visite interactive de l’exposition ainsi qu’un atelier de création en lien avec l’une des œuvres exposées. Ce programme est destiné à tous les groupes : préscolaires, scolaires, communautaires, touristiques, professionnels, ainsi qu’aux visiteurs individuels par le bais des Dimanches famille ou des Moments créatifs. 

Les Dimanches famille

Pour tous, en famille ou entre amis, tous les dimanches après-midi

Les Dimanches famille s’adressent à tous les publics, initiés ou non à l’art contemporain, des enfants à partir de quatre ans aux adolescents et aux adultes. Dans une ambiance décontractée et accompagnés par un personnel dynamique et accueillant, les participants observent des œuvres originales et découvrent de manière concrète de nouvelles façons de créer. 

Les Moments créatifs

Ateliers pour les adultes

Ce programme d’activités étroitement lié à l’expression plastique propose aux adultes de se familiariser avec des parcours artistiques originaux et d’expérimenter certains aspects du processus de création. À chaque séance, une nouvelle activité d’arts plastiques ou médiatiques est proposée : le sujet, le thème, la technique et les médiums varient. Ainsi, les participants découvrent sous un angle nouveau les multiples possibilités créatives qu’offrent les œuvres présentées au Musée. En guise d’introduction, chaque série d’activités est amorcée par une Visite interactive.

Le LabO TechnO

Ce programme permet aux participants d’explorer et d’expérimenter de nouvelles technologies relatives au  traitement de l’image par l’ordinateur tout en apprivoisant de manière renouvelée le processus de création.

L’image numérisée et ses multiples variations révolutionnent les formes d’expression de la culture visuelle et transforment à un rythme effréné nos représentations. L’implantation d’activités de création numérique génère un nouveau lieu de recherche appliquée qui correspond à notre univers contemporain. 

Objectifs spécifiques

  • Concrétiser des productions artistiques variées en exploitant de nouvelles possibilités  technologiques, de nouveaux programmes, de nouveaux outils.
  • Réaliser des créations plastiques numériques en 2 D et 3 D ;
  • Diffuser les images réalisées aux Ateliers, par le biais d’une galerie virtuelle (site WEB)

Le Camp de jour

Destiné aux jeunes artistes âgés de 6 à 15 ans

Inspiré d’un thème relatif aux œuvres exposées, le Camp de jour du Musée met à profit le dynamisme et la créativité de l’ensemble des participants en leur offrant une grande variété d’activités artistiques (dessin, peinture, sculpture, sérigraphie sur t-shirt, arts numériques), muséologiques et récréatives. Ce programme vise aussi à développer chez les jeunes leurs capacités créatrices tout en apprivoisant l’art contemporain d’une manière originale et amusante.

Reconnu pour ses hauts standards de qualité et sa programmation constamment renouvelée, le Camp de jour du Musée a remporté quatre prix d’excellence de l’Association des camps certifiés du Québec : Innovation en 1997, Meilleure programmation en 1998, en 2006 et en 2010.


Action culturelle

Chaque année le MAC conçoit et organise le Colloque international Max et Iris Stern en plus de se faire le partenaire de colloques développés par des chercheurs associés aux universités québécoises. Cette programmation a pour but de rendre accessibles aux publics les travaux de recherche des penseurs actuels, issus de domaines tels que l’histoire de l’art, la philosophie, la littérature, les théories de la communication ou toute autre discipline permettant de jeter un nouvel éclairage sur l’art contemporain. Par son action culturelle, le MAC contribue à l’avancement des connaissances sur les développements récents de la scène artistique et participe à la mise en en relation de l’art avec différentes problématiques sociales et/ou esthétiques, montrant ainsi combien la création en arts visuels se situe au cœur de la société et en constitue un point de vue privilégié.

Les Rencontres

Le MAC offre plusieurs formules de médiation en lien avec les expositions : des rencontres avec les conservateurs et les artistes dans les salles, des conversations entre le commissaire et l’artiste, et des conférences prononcé par les artistes sur leur pratique artistique. Ces rencontres ont pour but d’offrir aux visiteurs l’occasion d’entendre le point de vue des principaux acteurs des expositions en cours et de créer des espaces de contacts et d’échanges.

Les Colloques internationaux Max et Iris Stern

Depuis 2006, les colloques internationaux du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal portent le nom de Colloque international Max et Iris Stern. Dès la fondation du Musée en 1964, Max et Iris Stern ont contribué de manière significative à son essor en enrichissant sa collection de plusieurs dons, parmi lesquels figurent des œuvres de Hans Arp, Paul-Émile Borduas, Emily Carr, John Lyman et Jean Paul Riopelle.

L’événement, qui se tient chaque année, a pour but de rendre accessibles au public les travaux de recherche récents des penseurs actuels, issus de domaines différents, tels que l’histoire de l’art, l’esthétique, la sociologie ou la littérature. Par son engagement, le Musée souhaite favoriser une meilleure compréhension de l’art contemporain et rendre hommage à Max et Iris Stern, en propageant leur vision sur la scène internationale.