Summary

The exhibition consists of an installation version of the hour-long creative documentary Hotel Machine by Québec artist Emanuel Licha. Licha filmed in five cities—Beirut, Sarajevo, Gaza, Kiev and Belgrade—in five hotels that house war correspondents covering conflicts. The film is presented in a central space surrounded by five adjacent archive stations, which through texts, images and other documents explore aspects of the concept of the “war hotel.”

Noteworthy

Emanuel Licha: Now Have a Look at This Machine will be on display, before and after Montréal, in other cities across Canada: The Rooms Provincial Art Gallery in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, will be the first venue, from September 17 to December 31, 2016. This touring project, organized by the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, is funded in part by the Government of Canada.

Biography

Artist and filmmaker Emanuel Licha was born in Montréal in 1971. He studied urban geography and then the visual arts. His work in film, video installation and photography focuses on the role of architecture in the representation of conflicts, leading to a reading of the features of the urban landscape as social, historical and political signs. His recent projects investigate the means by which traumatic and violent events are being witnessed and observed. Recent solo exhibitions have been held in Québec at the Musée régional de Rimouski, as well as SBC Gallery and Galerie B-312 in Montréal; and in Europe at LOOP 09, Barcelona; Galerie Cortex Athletico, Bordeaux; Canadian Cultural Centre, Paris; Careof, Milan; and Institute for Contemporary Art, Pristina; as well as at Ex Teresa Arte Actual, Mexico City.

Videos

The exhibition Now Have a Look at This Machine consists of an hour-long creative documentary, Hotel Machine, and five archival stations of texts and documents, publications and moving images that provide contextualization for the five functions Licha attributes to the war hotel: proximity, vantage point, security, communication and hub.


Mot-symbole Canada

Emanuel Licha

au
Et maintenant regardez cette machine

L’exposition est la version installative de Hotel Machine, un documentaire de création d’une heure réalisé par l’artiste québécois Emanuel Licha. Licha s’est rendu dans cinq villes — Beyrouth, Sarajevo, Gaza, Kiev et Belgrade – où il a tourné dans cinq hôtels où résident les correspondants de guerre lorsqu’ils couvrent des conflits. Le film est projeté au centre d’un espace entouré de cinq postes d’archives où sont explorés des aspects du concept d’« hôtel de guerre » au moyen de textes, d’images et d’autres documents.

À signaler

Emanuel Licha : Et maintenant regardez cette machine sera présentée, avant et après Montréal, dans d’autres villes au Canada. The Rooms Provincial Art Gallery à Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador sera son premier point de chute, du 17 septembre au 31 décembre 2016. Cette tournée, organisée par le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, est financée en partie par le gouvernement du Canada.

Biographie

 

Artiste et cinéaste, Emanuel Licha est né à Montréal en 1971. Il a d’abord fait des études en géographie urbaine avant de se consacrer aux arts visuels. Son travail en film, installation vidéo et photographie s’intéresse aux rôles de l’architecture dans la représentation des conflits, l’amenant à envisager les éléments du paysage urbain comme des indices sociaux, historiques et politiques. Ses projets récents questionnent les moyens utilisés pour observer et rapporter des événements violents et traumatiques. Parmi ses dernières expositions personnelles au Québec, mentionnons celles qui ont été présentées au Musée régional de Rimouski, ainsi qu’à la Galerie SBC et à la Galerie B-312, à Montréal. En Europe, le travail de Licha a été présenté entre autres au festival LOOP 09, à Barcelone; à la Galerie Cortex Athletico, à Bordeaux; au Centre Culturel Canadien, à Paris; à Careof, à Milan; et à l’Institut d’art contemporain de Pristina. Il a également fait l’objet d’une exposition au Museo Ex Teresa Arte Actual, à Mexico.

Renseignements complémentaires

Commissaire(s)
Lesley Johnstone
Partenaire(s)
Le Magazine du Musée

Le Magazine du Musée

Hiver 2017, 1916-8675, PDF.

Emanuel Licha

Emanuel Licha

Lesley Johnstone, Emanuel Licha, Volker Pantenburg, Susan Schuppli, Janvier 2017, 9782551256945, 144 pages.

29,95 $

Autres expositions

Olafur Eliasson, Big Bang Fountain, 2014
Exposition en cours

Olafur Eliasson

au
Cheryl Sim, Un jour, One Day, 2017
Exposition en cours

À la recherche d’Expo 67

au
Dominique Blain, Sans titre, 1987 – 1989
Exposition en cours

Terre des femmes

au
Shary Boyle, Beast (Highland Series), 2007
Exposition en cours

Entre le soi et l'autre

au
Taryn Simon, Agreement to Develop Park Hyatt St. Kitts under the St. Kitts & Nevis Citizenship by Investment Program. Dubai, United Arab Emirates, July 16, 2012, Paperwork and the Will of Capital, 2015
Exposition en cours

L’état du monde

au
Hajra Waheed, The Video Installation Project 1-10 : Fayaz, 2011-2013
Exposition en cours

The Video Installation Project 1-10

au