Liz Magor is one of the most important Canadian artists of her generation and certainly its most influential sculptor of the past thirty years. Born in 1948 in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Magor lives and works in Vancouver, British Columbia, where she has also had a distinguished teaching career at Emily Carr University of Art and Design.

This non-chronological survey will focus on sculpture and installation produced over the course of forty years. The show will emphasize the thematic and emotional range of Magor’s practice. From the mental and physical contexts of retail consumerism to the spaces of the museum to the private, interior worlds of addiction and desire, Magor’s oeuvre has consistently combined a high level of conceptual and procedural rigor with the intense investigation of materials, ranging from twigs and textiles to rubber and polymerized gypsum. The exhibition will alternate in terms of scale, shifting between displays that are monumental and sprawling on the one hand, to intimate and personal on the other. Indeed, it will focus on the richly layered nature of Magor’s practice—extraordinary in its tendency to meld multiple references to cultures of display, compulsion, and consumption, making the case that this visual and emotional richness is one of the reasons why Magor is one of the most intriguing conceptual artists of her generation.
Bannière_MAC-detail-expo-Liz_Magor_EN

The exhibition

The show will explore the tension in Magor’s work between the classic concerns of minimal art—working in series, employing non-traditional materials and abstract shapes, while exploring notions of repetition, variation, and sameness—but opening up this vocabulary to ideas of difference, social identity, and psychological conditions. Crucially for Magor, these ideas of difference operate on a conceptual level—as they compete with material and abstract aspects—and are never permitted to become packaged identities that can be consumed (or marketed) with ease.

Setting aside the conventional rules of the monographic survey, this exhibition will also demonstrate that Magor’s sculpture provides fuel for a slow-burning speculation about the practice and theory of mimesis and about how everyday objects and forms—everything from bottles of booze to raccoons—operate in our lives. Magor often juxtaposes casts of clothing, addictive substances, animal corpses, and other consumer and household objects in a manner that functions allegorically—that generates meaning by failing to overcome the distance between signifier and signified, a gap that is overshadowed by a feeling of absence. Literal imagery of people is often noticeably absent in her works.

The exhibition will juxtapose recent pieces—assemblages incorporating either plaster-based cast material or textiles as main components—with works from earlier in Magor’s career that are formally and thematically linked. Combinations of cast and found objects—such as Burrow (1999), Chee-to (2000), Volvic (2002), Carton II (2006), Tweed (Kidney) (2008), Stack of Trays (2008), Racoon (2008), Paper Bags 3/4 (Pom pom) (2014) —attest to Magor’s longstanding interests in notions of the uncanny, desire, and repulsion. It will include early large-scale installations such as Production (1980) and Regal Decor (1985), as well as Messenger (1996-2002), a reconstruction of an antique log cabin—filled with an array of materials, including archaic weaponry—resembling a survivalist’s refuge; lying within is a plaster figure representing a sleeping dog. The remarkable wall-based installation Being This (2012) consists of 78 boxes displaying found garments that have been meticulously snipped, stitched, and embellished, while Violator (2015) feature aged, found woolen blankets which have been subtly altered by the artist.

Coproduction between the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich, and the Kunstverein in Hamburg.

Biographies

Liz Magor was born in 1948 in Winnipeg, Manitoba. She lives and works in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Solo exhibitions include No Fear, No Shame, No Confusion, Triangle Gallery, Marseille, France (2013); The Power Plant, Toronto (2003); Vancouver Art Gallery (2002); Art Gallery of Ontario (1986); and exhibitions at Susan Hobbs Gallery, Toronto and Catriona Jeffries, Vancouver. Recent group exhibitions include Pacific Triennial, Orange County Museum of Art, Newport Beach, California (2013); Light my Fire: Some Propositions about Portraits and Photography, Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto (2013); ZOO, Musée d’art contemporain, Montréal; After Presence, MacKenzie Art Gallery, Regina (2012); The Mouth and other storage facilities, Henry Art Gallery, Seattle (touring) 2008; Histoires des Amériques, Musée d’art contemporain, Montréal; Baja to Vancouver, Wattis Insitute, San Francisco; Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver; Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego (2004); Elusive Paradise: the Millenium Prize, National Gallery of Canada (2001), Aurora Borealis, Centre international d’art contemporain, Montréal (1985). Forthcoming exhibitions include solo exhibitions at the Art Gallery of Ontario and at Peep Hole, Milan, as well as a project at the Glasgow Sculpture Studio.

Liz Magor is the recipient of the Gershon Iskowitz Prize (2014), the Audain Prize for Lifetime Achievement (2009) and the Governor General’s Award (2001). In 1984, she represented Canada at the Venice Biennale, and participated in the Sydney Biennale in 1982 and Documenta 8 in 1987.

Liz Magor is represented by the Susan Hobbs Gallery in Toronto, Catriona Jeffries in Vancouver and Marcelle Alix in Paris.

Dan Adler is an associate professor of modern and contemporary art at York University in Toronto. He is the author of Hanne Darboven: Cultural History 1880-1983 (Afterall Books/MIT Press 2009) and co-editor (with Mitchell Frank) of German Art History and Scientific Thought: Beyond Formalism (Ashgate Press, 2012). A former senior editor of the Bibliography of the History of Art at the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles, he regularly contributes reviews to Frieze and C Magazine. He is currently working on a book manuscript on the aesthetics of recent assemblage sculpture.

In addition to his formal university studies, Dr. Adler is an alumnus of the Whitney Museum’s Independent Study Program. His curatorial credits include the exhibitions Francis Bacon and Henry Moore: Terror and Beauty (2014) held at the Art Gallery of Ontario and When Hangover Becomes Form: Rachel Harrison and Scott Lyall(2006), held at the Contemporary Art Gallery in Vancouver and Los Angeles Contemporary Exhibitions (LACE). He was co-organizer of the DAAD-sponsored conference Tainted Goods: Contemporary Sculpture and the Critique of Display Cultures in Germany and Europe, held at York University and University of Toronto in May 2012.

Lesley Johnstone is curator and Head of the exhibitions and education at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. She was co-curator of L’avenir (looking forward), the 2014 Montreal Biennale, and the 2011 Québec Triennial, as well as the curator of solo exhibitions by Patrick Bernatchez (2014), Eve Sussman (2013), Tino Sehgal (2013), Valérie Blass (2012), Luanne Martineau (2010), Francine Savard (2009) and Lynne Marsh (2008). Her group exhibition Yesterday’s Tomorrows (2010) brought together Québec, Canadian and international artists who revisit Modernist architecture and design.

Johnstone has worked as an independent curator, written many catalogue texts and edited of a number of critical anthologies and monographs on contemporary Canadian art, including Hybrids: Reshaping the Contemporary Garden in Métis, Sight Lines: Reading Contemporary Canadian Art, and Studiolo: The Collaborative Work of Martha Fleming and Lyne Lapointe. She was Artistic Director of the International Garden Festival at the Jardins de Métis from 2003 to 2007 and Head of Publications at the Canadian Centre for Architecture from 1998 to 2003, and was long associated with the Artexte information centre.

Liz Magor

au
Habitude

Liz Magor est une des artistes les plus importantes de sa génération au Canada et, certainement, la sculpteure canadienne la plus influente des trente dernières années. Née en 1948 à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, Magor vit et travaille à Vancouver, où elle a notamment mené une brillante carrière de professeure à la Emily Carr University of Art and Design.

Ce survol non chronologique s’attachera aux sculptures et aux installations des quarante dernières années. La présentation fera ressortir les thématiques et le spectre émotionnel de son œuvre. Du contexte mental et physique de la consommation de masse jusqu’aux espaces du musée, en passant par les univers intérieurs et secrets de la dépendance et du désir, l’œuvre de Magor allie un haut degré de rigueur conceptuelle et méthodique à une recherche fouillée de matériaux tels le filage, les textiles, le caoutchouc et le gypse polymérisé. L’exposition mettra également en relief l’alternance d’échelle entre des installations d’une étendue et d’un déploiement monumentaux et des œuvres de format intimiste et personnel. Enfin, toute la pratique de Magor se caractérise par la somptuosité de ses diverses couches et par sa remarquable capacité à fondre entre elles ses multiples références et les usages culturels de disposition, compulsion et consommation. La richesse visuelle et émotionnelle qui émane du travail de Liz Magor fait d’elle une artiste conceptuelle des plus intrigantes de sa génération.

Bannière_MAC-detail-expo-Liz_Magor_FR

L’exposition

L’exposition explorera la tension que l’on retrouve dans le travail de Magor entre les préoccupations classiques de l’art minimal (travail sériel, emploi de matériaux non-traditionnels et de formes abstraites, approfondissement des notions de répétition, de variation et de réitération) et l’inscription dans son vocabulaire des notions de différence, d’identité citoyenne et de conditionnement psychologique. L’idée de différence, cruciale chez Magor, opère à un niveau conceptuel et entre en friction avec les aspects matériels et abstraits de son travail, si bien que la notion d’identité demeure dynamique et se dérobe à la récupération.

Mettant de côté les règles usuelles de la rétrospective, cette exposition démontrera que le travail de sculpture alimente chez l’artiste un bouillonnement réflexif sur la pratique et la théorie de la Mimésis où les objets et les formes les plus coutumiers du quotidien – des bouteilles d’alcool aux ratons-laveurs – infléchissent nos existences. Magor juxtapose souvent des piles de linge, des substances addictives, des carcasses d’animaux, et divers autres biens de consommation domestiques d’une manière allégorique, faisant surgir du sens à même l’impossibilité de gommer la distance entre le signifiant et le signifié, distance ici surplombée par l’ombre d’un sentiment d’absence. Car l’image littérale des personnes est remarquablement absente de ses œuvres.

L’exposition soulignera la relation formelle et thématique qui va des pièces récentes – assemblables incorporant moulages de plâtre ou textiles comme matériaux de base – aux œuvres de périodes précédentes de l’artiste. Diverses combinaisons de moulages et d’objets trouvés – tels Burrow (1999), Chee-to (2000), Volvic (2002), Carton II (2006), Tweed (Kidney) (2008), Stack of Trays (2008), Racoon (2008), Pom pom (2014) – attestent de l’intérêt constant de Magor pour les notions de trouble, de désir et de répulsion. De plus, l’exposition comprendra plusieurs installations massives datant du début du parcours de l’artiste, dont Production (1980). On y trouvera également Messenger (1996-2002), qui reconstruit une ancienne cabane en rondins remplie d’une panoplie de matériaux, incluant des armes archaïques, et qui ressemble à un refuge de survivaliste au centre duquel une figure de plâtre représente un chien qui sommeille. La remarquable installation murale Being This (2012) se compose de 78 boitiers contenant des vêtements soigneusement taillés, reprisés et embellis, tandis que Violator (2015) exposent de vieilles couvertures de laine trouvées et subtilement altérées par l’artiste.

Coproduction entre le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, le Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich, et le Kunstverein in Hamburg.

Biographies

Liz Magor est née en 1948 à Winnipeg, au Manitoba. Elle vit et travaille à Vancouver, en Colombie Britannique.

Ses expositions individuelles comprennent No Fear, No Shame, No Confusion, Triangle France, Marseille (2013); The Power Plant, Toronto (2003); Vancouver Art Gallery (2002); Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario (1986); ainsi que les galeries Susan Hobbs, de Toronto et Catriona Jeffries, de Vancouver. Elle a participé à plusieurs expositions de groupe, dont : Pacific Triennial, Orange County Museum of Art, Newport Beach, Californie (2013); Light my Fire: Some Propositions about Portraits and Photography, Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, Toronto (2013); ZOO, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal; After Presence, MacKenzie Art Gallery, Regina (2012); The Mouth and other storage facilities, Henry Art Gallery, Seattle (en tournée) 2008; Histoires des Amériques, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal; Baja to Vancouver, Wattis Institute, San Francisco; Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver; Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego (2004); Elusive Paradise: the Millenium Prize, National Gallery of Canada (2001), Aurora Borealis, Centre international d’art contemporain, Montréal (1985). Par mis les expositions à venir, on retrouve des expositions individuelles au Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario et à Peep-Hole, Milan et un projet au Glasgow Sculpture Studio.

Liz Magor est la récipiendaire du prix Gershon Iskowitz 2015, de l’Audain Prize for Lifetime Achievement (2009) et du prix du Gouverneur Général (2001). En 1984, elle représentait le Canada à la Biennale de Venise ; elle a également participé à la Biennale de Sydney, Australie, en 1982 et à Documenta 8 en 1987.

Liz Magor est représentée par les galeries Susan Hobbs Gallery à Toronto, Catriona Jeffries à Vancouver et Marcelle Alix à Paris.

Dan Adler est professeur agréé d’histoire moderne et contemporaine de l’art à l’Université York, de Toronto. Il est l’auteur de Hanne Darboven: Cultural History 1880-1983 (Afterall Books/MIT Press 2009) et le co-éditeur (avec Mitchell Frank) de German Art History and Scientific Thought: Beyond Formalism (Ashgate Press, 2012). Ancien éditeur principal de la Bibliography of the History of Art à l’Institut de Recherche Getty de Los Angeles, il collabore régulièrement aux revues d’art Frieze et C Magazine. Il travaille présentement à l’écriture d’un livre consacré aux diverses esthétiques récentes en sculpture d’assemblage.

Outre ses recherches universitaires formelles, le professeur Adler a également pris part au Programme d’Études Indépendantes du Whitney Museum. Ses réalisations de commissaire d’exposition incluent Francis Bacon and Henry Moore: Terror and Beauty (2014), au Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, ainsi que When Hangover Becomes Form: Rachel Harrison and Scott Lyall (2006), à la Contemporary Art Gallery, de Vancouver et au Los Angeles Contemporary Exhibitions (LACE). Il a co-dirigé le colloque DAAD Tainted Goods: Contemporary Sculpture and the Critique of Display Cultures in Germany and Europe, tenu à l’Université York et à l’Université de Toronto en Mai 2012.

Lesley Johnstone est conservatrice et chef des expositions et de l’éducation au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. Elle a été co-commissaire de L’avenir (looking forward), la Biennale de Montréal 2014, et de La Triennale québécoise 2011, ainsi que commissaire d’expositions individuelles d’artistes telles que Patrick Bernatchez (2014), Eve Sussman (2013), Tino Sehgal (2013), Valérie Blass (2012), Luanne Martineau (2010), Francine Savard (2009) et Lynne Marsh (2008). L’exposition collective Les Lendemains d’hier (2010), regroupant artistes québécois, canadiens et internationaux, témoigne de son intérêt pour des approches conceptuelles et interdisciplinaires.

Johnstone a également œuvré comme commissaire indépendante, et dirigé de nombreuses publications sur l’art contemporain, dont Formes hybrides. Redessiner le jardin contemporain; Réfractions : Trajets de l’art contemporain au Canada ; et Studiolo: The Collaborative Work of Martha Fleming and Lyne Lapointe. Elle fut directrice artistique du Festival international de jardins aux Jardins de Métis de 2003 à 2007, chef des publications au Centre canadien d’architecture de 1998 à 2003 et longtemps associée au Centre d’information Artexte, à Montréal.

Renseignements complémentaires

Commissaire(s)
Lesley Johnstone, Conservatrice et Chef des expositions et de l’éducation au MAC

Dan Adler, professeur agréé d’histoire moderne et contemporaine de l’art à l’Université York, de Toronto
Partenaire(s)
  • logo-loto-quebec-gris
  • logo-ubisoft
  • Pacart-Qc
Restauration des « Sleepers » de Liz Magor

Marie-Chantale Poisson, restauratrice au Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, explique le travail de restauration à exécuter sur la série des « Sleepers » de Liz Magor.

Restauration de « Hat and Gloves » de Liz Magor

Marie-Chantale Poisson, restauratrice au Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, explique le travail de restauration exécuté sur l'œuvre « Hat and Gloves » de Liz Magor.

Liz Magor

Liz Magor

Dan Adler, Lesley Johnstone, Liz Magor, Heike Munder et Bettina Steinbrügge. Contributions de  Ian Carr-Harris, Géraldine Gourbe, Trevor Mahovsky, Isabelle Pauwels, Chris Sharp et Corin Sworn, 2016, 978-2-551-25829-1, 264 pages, ill. coul. 27 x 20 cm rigide.

55,00 $
Le Magazine du Musée

Le Magazine du Musée

Été 2016, 1916-8675, PDF.

Autres expositions

Olafur Eliasson, Big Bang Fountain, 2014
Exposition en cours

Olafur Eliasson

au
Cheryl Sim, Un jour, One Day, 2017
Exposition en cours

À la recherche d’Expo 67

au
Dominique Blain, Sans titre, 1987 – 1989
Exposition en cours

Terre des femmes

au
Shary Boyle, Beast (Highland Series), 2007
Exposition en cours

Entre le soi et l'autre

au
Taryn Simon, Agreement to Develop Park Hyatt St. Kitts under the St. Kitts & Nevis Citizenship by Investment Program. Dubai, United Arab Emirates, July 16, 2012, Paperwork and the Will of Capital, 2015
Exposition en cours

L’état du monde

au
Hajra Waheed, The Video Installation Project 1-10 : Fayaz, 2011-2013
Exposition en cours

The Video Installation Project 1-10

au