Ryan Gander is one of Britain’s most prolific and engaging artists. He lives and works in London and Suffolk from where he has established an international reputation through thoughtfully playful (or playfully thoughtful) conceptual artworks in many different mediums such as sculpture, film, photography, writing, graphic design, installation, performance among others.

Gander’s work connects the everyday to the esoteric and questions language and knowledge as he attempts to reinvent how things appear to us as artworks. His works can consist of a network of multiple connections that evoke a puzzle or a riddle. They assemble fragments of an unknown back-story that reveals itself through sets of clues to be deciphered, encourage viewers to make their own connections, invent their own narrative, and find their own solutions.

Le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal would like to express its gratitude to the OCAD University, Toronto for its support.


Make every show like it’s your last is as retooling of a touring exhibition’s North-American leg. The show brings together diverse elements that reflect Gander’s interest in the circumstances of art production as well as our perception of objects in the world. All of the works on show exemplify Gander’s transdisciplinary practice and how he navigates our culture’s contradictions with wit, humour, and experimentation.

Organised by the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal and produced in collaboration with Frac Île de France — Le Plateau, Paris; Manchester Art Gallery, UK; Centre for Contemporary Art, Derry~Londonderry, Northern Ireland; OK Offenes Kulturhaus / Center for Contemporary Art, Linz, Austria; Contemporary Art Gallery, Vancouver, British-Columbia and Aspen Art Museum, Aspen, Colorado.

Ryan Gander

au
Make every show like it’s your last

Ryan Gander est l’un des artistes les plus prolifiques et captivants de la Grande-Bretagne. Il vit et travaille à Londres et à Suffolk, d’où il s’est acquis une renommée internationale en réalisant des œuvres conceptuelles sérieusement amusantes  (ou drôlement  sérieuses) dans différents médiums, notamment la sculpture, le cinéma, la photographie, l’écriture, le design graphique, l’installation et la performance.

Dans son travail, Gander relie le quotidien et l’ésotérique, et questionne le langage et le savoir dans une tentative de réinventer ce que peut constituer une œuvre d’art. Ses œuvres peuvent être un réseau de liens multiples évoquant un casse-tête ou une énigme. Elles réunissent les fragments d’un contexte, d’une histoire, qui nous sont inconnus et qui se révèlent à travers des groupes d’indices à déchiffrer et elles encouragent chacun des regardeurs à tisser ses propres liens, à créer son propre récit et à tirer ses propres solutions.

Le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal remercie l’OCAD University, Toronto pour son appui.

Résumé

Make every show like it’s your last est une version retravaillée de l’étape nord-américaine d’une exposition itinérante. L’exposition réunit divers éléments qui reflètent l’intérêt de Gander pour les conditions de la production artistique de même que pour la perception d’objets dans le monde. Toutes les œuvres présentées illustrent la pratique transdisciplinaire de Gander et sa manière d’aborder les contradictions de notre culture de manière expérimentale et avec esprit et humour.

Cette exposition est organisée par le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal et produite en collaboration avec le FRAC Île-de-France – le Plateau, Paris ; la Manchester Art Gallery, Royaume-Uni ; le Centre for Contemporary Art, Derry~Londonderry, Irlande du Nord ; la OK Offenes Kulturhaus Oberösterreich (Maison ouverte de la culture Haute-Autriche), Linz, Autriche ; la Contemporary Art Gallery, Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique ; et l’Aspen Art Museum, Aspen, Colorado.

Renseignements complémentaires

Commissaire(s)
Mark Lanctôt
Partenaire(s)
  • logo-loto-quebec-gris
  • logo-ubisoft
Ryan Gander : Point de vue sur l'art

Ryan Gander : Le regard des enfants

Ryan Gander : Imagineering

Le Magazine du Musée

Le Magazine du Musée

Hiver 2016, 1916-8675, PDF.

Autres expositions

Olafur Eliasson, Big Bang Fountain, 2014
Exposition en cours

Olafur Eliasson

au
Cheryl Sim, Un jour, One Day, 2017
Exposition en cours

À la recherche d’Expo 67

au
Dominique Blain, Sans titre, 1987 – 1989
Exposition en cours

Terre des femmes

au
Shary Boyle, Beast (Highland Series), 2007
Exposition en cours

Entre le soi et l'autre

au
Taryn Simon, Agreement to Develop Park Hyatt St. Kitts under the St. Kitts & Nevis Citizenship by Investment Program. Dubai, United Arab Emirates, July 16, 2012, Paperwork and the Will of Capital, 2015
Exposition en cours

L’état du monde

au
Hajra Waheed, The Video Installation Project 1-10 : Fayaz, 2011-2013
Exposition en cours

The Video Installation Project 1-10

au