This exhibition presents a series of new works by Davis. The three multimedia installations and eight collages take as their point of departure two key figures in the beginnings of modernity, the poet Stéphane Mallarmé (1842-1898) and the dancer and choreographer Loïe Fuller (1862-1928). Mallarmé viewed dance as the ideal form of poetry-as-theatre. Two of his four texts on dance were devoted to Fuller, a fascinating figure in the early days of modern dance. Her experiments with electricity, lighting, mirrors and chemical compounds led Mallarmé to describe her work as both “intoxicating art” and an “industrial accomplishment.”

In the installation Did I Love a Dream?,2008-2009, Davis “illuminates” an excerpt from a film of one of Fuller’s trademark serpentine dances. Using a clever cinematographic technique—projection in reverse—she defies the laws of gravity. The copper screen hung from the ceiling alludes to Fuller’s experiments with electricity and lighting, while the imposing presence of the film projector combines with the ethereal projection to form a sculptural object. The title is drawn from Mallarmé’s poem L’Après-midi d’un faune.

In the eight collages of Euclid/Mallarmé,2008-2009, Davis embeds lines from L’Après-midi d’un faune into selected pages of an 1847 edition of Euclid’s Elements. In this way, she replaces the Greek mathematician’s text on three-dimensional space with a poem written at a time when Euclidian geometry was no longer in vogue. 

Euclid/Orchid, 2008-2009, presents a material and philosophical dialectic. A page (2D) from Euclid’s Elements is projected onto a live orchid (3D), setting up an opposition between images of time-free space and the very slow movement of plant growth, between intellect and emotion, between culture and nature.

The short video loop Satellite Ballet (for Loïe Fuller), 2008-2009, highlights the technological shifts that occurred at the dawn of both the twentieth and the twenty-first centuries, taking us from the age of mechanical reproduction to the digital era. The clip is presented on a dozen iPod Touches arranged on the walls according to Nijinsky’s choreographic notations for L’Après-midi d’un faune.

Also on view is an earlier work by Davis, Not I/Pas moi, 2006-2007, recently acquired by the Musée and presented until October 4, 2009 in The Collection: Some Installations, an exhibition organized by Josée Bélisle, curator in charge of the Musée Collection. This piece takes the form of a hanging screen covered with vintage buttons and flanked by two mirrors. Excerpts from texts by Samuel Beckett and Simone Weil are screened alternately in French and English, forwards and backwards, thus becoming readable, in turn, on the screen and on the mirrors.

These two complementary presentations will offer visitors a deeper appreciation of this sensitive, intriguing work. The exhibition Christine Davis was curated by Lesley Johnstone, curator at the Musée. The works were developed at the Future Cinema Lab of York University in Toronto, where Davis inaugurated the Artist Residency Program.

Aller directement au contenu

Christine Davis

au

L’exposition présente un tout nouveau corpus de l’artiste. Il s’agit de trois installations multimédias et de huit collages qui ont pour point de départ deux figures-clés du début de la modernité, le poète Stéphane Mallarmé (1842-1898) et la danseuse et chorégraphe Loïe Fuller (1862-1928). Mallarmé considérait la danse comme la forme théâtrale de la poésie par excellence. Deux des quatre textes qu’il a écrit sur la danse sont consacrés à Fuller, figure fascinante des débuts de la danse moderne. Ses expérimentations avec l’électricité, l’éclairage, les miroirs et les composants chimiques ont fait dire à Mallarmé que son travail était « une ivresse d’art » et un « accomplissement industriel ».

Dans l’installation Did I Love a Dream?,2008-2009, Davis « enlumine » un extrait de film documentant une chorégraphie de Fuller. À l’aide d’une habile stratégie cinématographique, la projection à rebours, elle défie les lois de la gravité… En cuivre, l’écran suspendu fait référence aux expérimentations de Fuller avec l’électricité et l’éclairage, tandis que le projecteur fait contrepoids à la projection éthérée par sa présence physique devenue sculpturale. Le titre, « Aimai-je un rêve », est extrait du poème de Mallarmé, L’Après-midi d’un faune.

Pour les huit collages d’Euclid/Mallarmé,2008-2009, Christine Davis insère des vers de L’Après-midi d’un faune sur certaines pages d’une édition de 1847 des Éléments d’Euclide. Elle remplace ainsi le texte du mathématicien grec sur l’espace tridimensionnel par un poème écrit à une époque où la géométrie euclidienne n’a plus cours.  

Euclid/Orchid, 2008-2009, met en scène une dialectique matérielle et philosophique. Une page tirée des Éléments d’Euclide (2D) est projetée sur une orchidée réelle (3D), superposant l’image d’un espace hors temps et le mouvement très lent de la plante en croissance, opposant intellect et émotion, culture et nature.

Satellite Ballet (for Loïe Fuller), 2008-2009 montre dans une courte boucle les changements technologiques qui se sont déroulés au début des XXe et XXIe siècles, nous faisant passer de l’âge de la reproduction mécanique à celle de la reproduction numérique. Le clip est présenté sur une douzaine de iPod Touch disposés sur les murs suivant les notations chorégraphiques de Nijinski pour L’Après-midi d’un faune.

On retrouve également une œuvre antérieure de Davis, Not I/Pas moi, 2006-2007, récemment acquise par le Musée et présentée dans l’exposition La Collection : quelques installations, jusqu’au 4 octobre 2009, mise en scène par Josée Bélisle, conservatrice et responsable de la Collection. L’œuvre prend la forme d’un écran suspendu recouvert de boutons vintage, flanqué de deux miroirs. Des extraits de textes de Samuel Beckett et de Simone Weil sont projetés en alternance en français et en anglais, à l’endroit et à l’envers, devenant ainsi tour à tour lisibles sur l’écran ou sur les miroirs.

Complémentaires, ces deux présentations permettront au public d’approfondir la connaissance de cette œuvre sensible et envoûtante. Lesley Johnstone, conservatrice au Musée, est la commissaire de l’exposition Christine Davis. Les œuvres ont été créées au Future Cinema Lab de l’Université York à Toronto, où Davis a inauguré le programme d’artiste en résidence.

Renseignements complémentaires

Commissaire(s)
Lesley Johnstone

Publications

Christine Davis

Christine Davis

Lesley Johnstone, Olivier Asselin, 2009, 978-2-551-23785-2, 96 pages, ill. coul. 8.5 x 6.5 po rigide.

24,95 $

Autres expositions

Janet Werner, Lucy, 2011
Exposition en cours

Janet Werner

au
Alain Paiement, Partition, 2018
Exposition en cours - Collection

Alain Paiement

au
Serge Tousignant, Gémination, 1967
Exposition en cours

Luis Jacob et Serge Tousignant

au
William Kentridge, Second-hand Reading (image tirée de la vidéo), 2013
Exposition en cours

William Kentridge

au
Gisele Amantea, Faux Site, Museum (after Piranesi), 2017
Exposition en cours

Gisele Amantea

au
Francis Alÿs, Children’s Game 12 / Sillas [Chaises musicales], 2012
Exposition en cours

Francis Alÿs

au